First Draft Completed!

Awhile back I set myself the goal of finishing the gap I left in my first draft at the end of NaNoWriMo last year. I would finish the story while working up north on a contract. Nope. I would finish the story while working an easy contract over the summer. Nope. I would finish the story while I took a writing break over the winter. Almost! I challenged myself to finish the novel before George R.R. Martin managed to squeeze out Winds of Winter, thinking a little self-aggrandizing competition might provide the fuel. Success! (I have mixed feelings that there is no sign of a Winds of Winter release date.)

I feel great for having finished. The writing routine I posted about last time really did help me get to the end in good time. As I approached the finish line, I skipped the warm-up and dove right into the text. When I was done, I enjoyed a well-deserved glass of scotch.

I’m back to my 60 hour weeks for the next couple months, but I’m ready to tackle the second draft, the oodles of margin notes, and a ton of period research.

Time to get serious about learning how to market a book.

Leave a comment

Filed under Getting Published

Leave a Reply

