And Continues. Meantime, a Set of Goals.

I’ve been telling myself that I sent that agent inquiry (mentioned in the previous post of September 18) some time in late October. What a surprise!

And what a shock that I haven’t been writing anything since. Of course a big part of the non-writing is having a demanding 60 hour a week day job – but if ER doctors can write potboilers in their spare time, then what’s my excuse? The reality is that sending off a query took a lot of guts and a lot of energy. Hopes were high. I rested on my laurels. And got lazy. Then disappointed. And stopped.

I’ve been off work for two weeks following four back to back contracts. First, I squeezed in a trip to Paris. Tomorrow, I start another contract. But in the days between I sat down to write and out came a list of goals. They are as follows:

  1. Write every day.
  2. Post regularly (on my own blog(s), but also participate in commenting on others).
  3. Self-publish the romance – be smart about it.
  4. Polish the Lion – query agents when that is ready.
  5. Polish the Ghost – per above, as second manuscript.
  6. Book off November for NaNoWriMo this year – start preparing now.

I’ve put that list in a document and I start my laptop with it every day. That document will also go on my fridge. This is my best plan to help motivate myself, beyond the understanding that nothing gets accomplished without the work that goes into it. The idea is that those initial goals will change as manuscripts progress. The challenge is to follow through. The challenge is to follow through after a twelve hour work day and despite future disappointments.

Here’s where a community of fellow writers becomes beneficial. There’s room for a number 7 on the list: Start a new writing group.

Leave a comment

Filed under Getting Published, Writing

Leave a Reply

